top of page

GOING SOMEWHERE OR GOING NOWHERE FAST?


Actually, we are always going somewhere (often quite fast). People create beliefs about the world and then propel themselves forward on the basis of those beliefs. When I teach or move through my days, I want to experience happiness and love, as well as experience every day as “a walk with God.”

All part of my personal mission statement. (Do you have one?) Given I know where I want to go, I want to hold beliefs that will get me there: for example, “I am doing the best I can;” “I am enough;” “There are no wrong moves;” and “The universe is benevolent.”

Useful beliefs to get me where I want to go. Other beliefs that don’t get me where I want to go, I dump. Sometimes that takes lots of diligence and focused work. But the candidates for elimination are clear for me. For example, “I’m not enough;” “I can’t get what I want;” and “I’m unlovable.”

We might consider replacing such beliefs because they bring consequences we may not want. For example, if we choose to believe we are stupid, we’ll behave in an unclear, hesitant fashion. If we believe we are smart, we are more likely to move confidently through the world. If we choose to believe we are victims, we will act as if others around us cause our distress or create our limitations. On the other hand, when we believe we are “in charge,” we will move purposefully and sure-footedly, comfortably taking responsibility for our experiences. The road in front of us is paved by the beliefs we hold inside of us.

Bears Barry Neil Kaufman, Option Institute/Son-Rise Program/Autism Treatment Center of America Co-Founder & Author "PowerDialogues"

..


FOLLOW ME!

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon

GET NOTIFIED WHEN I POST!

POPULAR POSTS

TAGS

No tags yet.
bottom of page