top of page

Head and Heart


“I know it in my head but not in my heart."

Actually, if you really knew it in your head, it would be a body-wide experience. There is NO head and heart dichotomy. Head and heart are just metaphors used often to abdicate responsibility.

When I say I know it in my head -- it usually means I think that's what I should do or what I think is good for me. When I say I know it in my heart -- it usually means that's what I really, really want to do. Once we make the choice of which priority to follow, then we make our move (or standstill, which is another version of "move" in place). The game of saying "oh, I really knew it wasn't good for me to do" or "I wish I followed my heart" is missing the point.

We talk to ourselves, we weigh our beliefs (whether we call them head or heart based) and then we decide. The romance of the "heart" misses a bigger romance of the "head" or our continuous creative ability to make up all different kinds of beliefs (I love you -- a belief. I will show up -- a belief-based decision. I can be happy even if I don't get what I want -- another belief.).

If you really knew what you say you know, then your metaphorical heart would have the same voice as your metaphorical head.


FOLLOW ME!

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon

GET NOTIFIED WHEN I POST!

POPULAR POSTS

TAGS

No tags yet.
bottom of page